top of page
ESQUE

THE MEET - How I Got Into Architecture School By Accident.

Updated: Nov 7, 2019

This post explores how 'Esque' got into Architecture School at Nelson Mandela University (luck does not begin to describe it) and his journey as a technology student ever since....



"Chance only favors the prepared mind" - Lious Pasteur.

Nice To Meet You

And boy was I not Prepared for what was to come!

Coming down to Port Elizabeth, from Durban, For my interview and entrance exam into Architecture School, I was not prepared at all. Just coming out of A private boy's school, where we were brainwashed to believe we were 'the shit' -- for lack of a better term - was not the best mentality go out into society with. I was the run of the mill carefree, directionless, 'I hate school' teenager who would be known in the black community as a 'Model C'. I was literally only going to varsity because my father willed it so.


Why was I doing an interview when UKZN had already accepted me for something in commerce (an extended programme - suffice to say 'The All-Father' was not chuffed)? Well... the Sargent's son was NOT going to do an EXTENDED PROGRAMME!

I came down to PE with my cousin already enrolled in Geology at then NMMU To take the entrance exam. I found PE immensely underwhelming but that is neither here nor there. As you've already discerned, I was spoilt, naive and ambition-less.


After the traditional chair-drawing exam I find myself seated at the SPACE table with three lecturers across from me, the Technical Work lecturer telling me there's no ways that I could be accepted with such a thin portfolio (this after displaying his former classmate's son's thesis of a portfolio, who was supposed to be the same year as me). The other two lecturers nodded and I readied to stand up and leave when the Design lecturer asked if I had anything else that I could present. By my flying Josephine's luck I had brought along my high school art journal. After a passing around of my most prized possession as if it were a blunt, it was announced that I was going to be accepted but I would need to prove myself.


LOL! Saved by a book that I wasn't even going to bring with because it was not part of the required portfolio. If that is not serendipity then I don't know what is. I did not come prepared but chance certainly favoured me, but for how long? .



Finesse...

Welcome To My blog, My name is Siqalo Hlazo. Journey and Journal with me...

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page